Not his lungs…

Right after the anesthesiologist got the arterial line in, the doctor came in and said bad news. The lungs weren’t any good he said. He didn’t know any more specifics though.

So the nurse is unhooking everything and they will send us back home. Sounds like we will be home pretty quickly, as long as traffic is fine.

Posted on February 23, 2012, in update. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I am so sorry, but now you know what the routine is and it will be that much better next time. Our love is with you both.

  2. Keri Shea Standley

    I am so sorry. I know that this was a possibility, but I’m sure you’re feeling every emotion possible. We’ll continue to pray. It WILL happen!

  3. Deflation……frown………disappointment………..
    BUT, I got my plane ticket so will see you tonight anyway…….can’t wait…….love you all.. MOM.

  4. I guess it is always good to have a practice run.I am sorry,I know how excited we all were.God bless you,patty

  5. So sorry. He didn’t receive these one for a reason. God will give him the ones that are right for him. Have faith. Hugs to you all. =) Donna B.

  6. Bummer….well, now we know the drill. No need to get disappointed, this just wasn’t it. Everyone needs to keep the prayers coming and the right set of lungs will arrive in no time.
    Loves!

  7. Damn. I’m so sorry. That stinks. Still thinking and praying for you all!

  8. I am so sorry to hear about this. Having gone through this twice, I know how frustrating and emotionally jarring it can be. Right now it may seem so unfair and nothing anyone says sounds very comforting, but know there’s a reason all of this happened. You want THE BEST lungs for Dan and I know that Dan wants THE BEST lungs possible and these lungs just weren’t those. It will come soon!

    I learned a lot going through dry runs. I learned to try and keep my head up because once you receive the call for lungs, even if it doesn’t work out, it means that you’re at the top and another call is likely to come sooner. My wife and I also learned how to be better prepared for when we receive the actual call. For me, knowing what the pre-op procedure would be like helped me and calmed my nerves a bit for when the actual time happened.

    We’re sure thinking of you and Dan and your family. Let us know if we can help.

  9. Debbie Miller & Austin

    So sorry Dan and Jessica. Praying for you!

  10. I’M SO SORRY THIS ONE WASN’T THE ONE, BUT SOUNDS AS IF
    A DRY RUN IS A GOOD THING…WE WILL ALL HOPE AND PRAY IT
    IS AND THE RIGHT LUNGS ARE OUT THERE… I’VE BEEN FOLLOWING
    AFTER COUSIN JOANNE TOLD ME OF YOUR SITE, SO WILL CONTINUE
    TO FOLLOW AND PRAY FOR YOU… THE OTHER COUSIN DEBBIE..

Leave a comment