Update

Yesterday was filled with friends and family visiting us. Dan was able to spend some time outside, it was wonderful. This wasn’t even half the visitors that came yesterday.

IMG_3932.JPG

A counselor through the hospital came by yesterday and we made this. I know it will be cherished for years to come.

IMG_3933.JPG

Last night, Dan’s breathing has gotten a little more difficult. The nurse was great and gave him some more medications to help. Today, he has been sleeping quite a bit more compared to yesterday. It’s caused by both using more comfort meds and his body just being more tired. The doctors don’t know for sure, but estimate Dan has anywhere from one to a couple of days left.

Thank you everyone for all the wonderful comments. I know it’s hard to find the right words in times like this, but for me I really appreciate anything you find to say. Knowing so many people support us is so overwhelming, but does help me know that I’m not alone. This is so much harder than I ever imagined.

Posted on September 20, 2014, in update. Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. Emily (Colburn) Dinwiddie

    Thank you for the update! We lit a candle for you all and spent prayer at the grotto. Your family handprints are amazing. Love and prayers abound. Xoxox.

  2. Sister Mary Ellen Hanson, SSMO

    Praying for all of you, Jessica. Thank you for being so faithful in the communications from your end. The SSMOs are praying in union with all of you. Dan, you are so very fortunate to have such a loving family and they, you! Peace as you continue to care for one another and
    be present for one another. Our Blessed Lord be, is with you.

  3. Margaret Guthrie

    I am praying for you three, Jessica, that The Lord will comfort all of you, strengthen you. And reveal His special love for you, and His goodness. I am a friend of Holly’s.. She loved you all.

  4. I am a minister of Christ, and a friend of Mary Fipps, and a prayer warrior for many. As sad as I am about this, I’m finding comfort in that Dan will be in complete comfort and peace soon. He’ll be perfect and whole and in the arms of our Father in Heaven. Hallowed be his name. Glory to God he Ali g Dan means taking him home where you’ll see him again, as will your son. I hope you find comfort in knowing that.Amen
    I’m praying for all of you. In Jesus name.
    Jesus loves you all. He loves Dan.
    Lori Elliot

  5. Thanks for your updates we continue to pray. I have never known such a brave family that extends so much love to so many. I cherish the fond memories of times our families have spent together linking by that dimpled Lizzie. Blessings to you all and if there is ever anything we can do to help please ask.

  6. Chris and Ron Nelson

    Hugs hugs and more hugs again! Love the hand prints! So very special. Happy that you are all surrounded by so much love.

  7. The handprint picture is very touching. Jessica, I saw on Facebook that it was your birthday today. That made me think about you all even more. I’ve been praying for you.

  8. My heart hurts for you and your family. Dan was very nice to me when pat brought me camping a few years back. It was fortunate that I was able to go shooting with him. I’ll always have those memories and feelings.
    Thanks Dan, rest well.

  9. Jessica, while we havnt met, I feel like you and Dan are family. I’m a good friend of Mark and Pat. Holding you all in our prayers here in Canada. You are one amazing wife and mum, I also pray God will continue to have his hand on you through this next portion of your journey.
    Dan has been an inspiration to me for the (I guess it’s now) years I’ve followed his progress. Much love to you all. Don

  10. Both pictures are beautiful ! I know it is your birthday and when you look back you will see it is one of the best you will have . . . Love to you all . .

  11. Jessica, thanks so much for writing this blog, it’s a blessing to hear your experiences and get to see the pictures. My heart aches for you and your family. I can’t imagine how hard this must be for you.

    Dan, you were like an older brother to me in our teen-age years. Thanks for your example of courage and strength! You are part of an amazing family and I’ll always be grateful for the good times we had together. God be with you till we meet again.

    We’re praying for you!

    “Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.” John 14:27

  12. jessica,what amazing courage and strengh you and dan have shown.my heart is hurting for you and all the family.may jesus keep dan close in his arms and his love surround you through this time.I think back to the great pictures you sent when dan was well and you were such a happy little family.It was so great to see and such wonderful memories for you. gods love to you and the family.

  13. Tracy Knapp & Lance Sargent

    Lance & I send you our love. Please know that we have been thinking of you.

  14. Your strength is amazing, Jessica. I have so many wonderful childhood memories with Dan in them. He is truly a blessing. I cannot imagine the pain you’re experiencing; please know that your family is and always will be cherished and loved.

  15. A sign of having lived a good life are the numbers of people who love and care for you. You are so beloved by so very many. I among so many love and care for you.

  16. Dear Jessica, Dan, and Jackson, our hearts break for you. You all are so brave and so strong. Our love to you all.

  17. My thoughts and prayers are with you, Dan and your family. God bless you through this difficult time.

  18. Jessica, although I don’t know your husband, he is still part of my family. My thoughts and prayers are with you at this difficult time. Cherish the good memories.

  19. My heart, thoughts, and prayers are there with you guys. I’m am so thankful that Dan was blessed with you Jessica, to guide him threw his journey, and fill his life with love. Breath easy Daniel and know that you’ve never taken any breath for granted.

  20. Kathy and Craig Emerson

    Your hand prints are so precious and will be something you and Jackson will cherish forever. Love is coming you way and to Dan and his parents as well. Kathy and Craig Emerson

  21. Dianna and Alec Hansen

    My heart breaks for you as we were just made aware of your blog and have been thinking about you guys daily and wondering how things were going. ♥ Please know you have been in our thoughts and prayers and will continue to be!! If there is anything we can do, we are right next door and more than happy to help in any way!! Big hugs for each of you!! Alec, Dianna and Victoria Hansen

  22. Jessica & Jackson, we love you! Prayer’s to you both will keep you strong. I am so sorry, I so loved to see your positive journey through all of this. God be with you!

  23. All our love we are so sorry that the world has lost an amazing man. Our thoughts, prayers and love to you & Jackson and the whole family.

  24. God bless Dan & the entire Meyer family!

Leave a Reply

